2024 PARO AWARD RECIPIENTS

EXCELLENCE IN CLINICAL TEACHING AWARDS

The Clinical Teaching Awards acknowledge the essential role that good clinical teachers play in the training of physicians. Residents are asked to outline the qualities that make their nominee an excellent teacher including patient care, quality of bedside teaching, and interest in the trainees' personal development and well-being.

The 2024 Recipients are:

McMaster University Dr. Moin Khan Surgery - Orthopaedic

NOSM University Dr. Dani Garon Family Medicine

Queen's University Dr. Sarah Foohey *Emergency Medicine*

University of Ottawa Dr. Andrew Hall *Emergency Medicine*

University of Toronto Dr. Mark Lachmann Psychiatry

University of Toronto Dr. Scott Fung *Gastroenterology*

Western University Dr. Jay Taylor Family Medicine

LOIS H. ROSS RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as an administrator or program coordinator.

The 2024 Recipient is:

Ms. Sheryl Jones Orthopaedic Surgery University of Western Ontario

DR. ROBERT CONN RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD FOR A CLINICIAN

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as a clinician or teacher.

The 2024 Recipient is:

Dr. Hanna Faghfoury Genetics and Genomics *University of Toronto*

RESIDENCY PROGRAM EXCELLENCE AWARD

This award is given to one Program in the province that consistently provides an exceptionally positive and rewarding experience to residents, while producing physicians who are expertly trained to care for their patients.

The 2024 Recipient is:

University of Toronto Medical Genetics and Genomics



RESIDENT TEACHING AWARDS

The Resident Teaching Awards honour residents who have provided outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior housestaff and clinical clerks.

The 2024 Recipients are:

McMaster University Dr. Charlotte McEwen PGY3 Surgery - Cardiac

NOSM University Dr. Allan Middleton PGY2 Internal Medicine - General

Queen's University Dr. Sergiy Shatenko PGY5 Anaesthesia

University of Ottawa Dr. Bilal Qarni PGY4 Diagnostic Radiology

University of Toronto Dr. Joseph Dubé PGY4 Medical Genetics and

Dr. James Im PGY5 Neurology

Western University Dr. Maude Rancourt PGY7 Surgery - Thoracic

CITIZENSHIP AWARDS FOR MEDICAL STUDENTS

The Citizenship Awards recognize medical students who, in addition to maintaining an adequate academic standing, have made significant contribution towards improving the general welfare of fellow medical students.

The 2024 Recipients are:

McMaster University Ms. Tania Kazi

NOSM University Ms. Chantae Robinson

Queen's University Ms. Grace Ayoo

University of Ottawa Ms. Veronica Chan

University of Toronto Ms. Samiha Mohsen and Ms. Jeeventh Kaur

Western University Mr. Andrew Nguyen