2023 PARO AWARD RECIPIENTS

EXCELLENCE IN CLINICAL TEACHING AWARDS

The Clinical Teaching Awards acknowledge the essential role that good clinical teachers play in the training of physicians. Residents are asked to outline the qualities that make their nominee an excellent teacher including patient care, quality of bedside teaching, and interest in the trainees' personal development and well-being.

The 2023 Recipients are:

McMaster University

Dr. Heather Brien
Orthopedic Surgery

Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Dr. Florence Morriello Internal Medicine

Queen's University

Dr. Margaret Gemmill Family Medicine

University of Ottawa

Dr. Elizabeth Miller Anaesthesia- Pain Medicine

University of Toronto

Dr. David Latter Cardiac Surgery

University of Toronto

Dr. Erin Lurie Family Medicine

Western University

Dr. Michael Nicholson Respirology

LOIS H. ROSS RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as an administrator or program coordinator.

The 2023 Recipient is:

Ms. Geneviève Bureau

Internal Medicine Queen's

DR. ROBERT CONN RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD FOR A CLINICIAN

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as a clinician or teacher.

The 2023 Recipient is:

Dr. Christopher Li

Respirology University of Toronto

RESIDENCY PROGRAM EXCELLENCE AWARD

This award is given to one Program in the province that consistently provides an exceptionally positive and rewarding experience to residents, while producing physicians who are expertly trained to care for their patients.

The 2023 Recipient is:

Ottawa University Dermatology Program

RESIDENT TEACHING AWARDS

The Resident Teaching Awards honour residents who have provided outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior housestaff and clinical clerks.

The 2023 Recipients are:

McMaster University

Dr. Nathalie Carey PGY7 Surgery-Paediatric

Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Dr. Tahereh Haji PGY4 Paediatrics



Dr. Christopher Vizena PGY3 Obstetrics/Gynecology

University of Ottawa

Dr. Roupen Odabashian PGY4 Internal Medicine

University of Toronto

Dr. Stephanie Kuntz PGY5 Neurology and Dr. Michael Nguyen PGY5 Ophthamology

Western University

Dr. Lebei Pi PGY6 Cardiology

CITIZENSHIP AWARDS FOR MEDICAL STUDENTS

The Citizenship Awards recognize medical students who, in addition to maintaining an adequate academic standing, have made significant contribution towards improving the general welfare of fellow medical students.

The 2023 Recipients are:

McMaster University

Ms. Connie Li

Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Ms. Sarah Hunt

Queen's University

Ms. Candice Martin

University of Ottawa

Mr. Mario Corrado

University of Toronto

Ms. Milena Cioana and

Mr. Joshua Tuazon

Western University

Ms. Harley Williams

