# EXCELLENCE IN CLINICAL TEACHING AWARDS

The Clinical Teaching Awards acknowledge the essential role that good clinical teachers play in the training of physicians. Residents are asked to outline the qualities that make their nominee an excellent teacher including patient care, quality of bedside teaching, and interest in the trainees' personal development and well-being.

The 2021 Recipients are:

#### **McMaster University**

Dr. Inge Schabort Family Medicine

#### **Northern Ontario School of Medicine**

Dr. Michael Mason Family Medicine

#### Queen's University

Dr. Erin Beattie Family Medicine

### **University of Ottawa**

Dr. Sophia Colantonio Dermatology

### **University of Toronto**

Dr. Umberin Najeeb Internal Medicine

### **University of Toronto**

Dr. Sheldon Singh Cardiology

### Western University

Dr. Karin Hahn Medical Oncology

## LOIS H. ROSS RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD FOR A NON-CLINICIAN

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as an administrator or program coordinator.

The 2021 Recipient is:

### Ms. Jeanne Lemaire

Internal Medicine University of Ottawa

# DR. ROBERT CONN RESIDENT ADVOCATE AWARD FOR A CLINICIAN

This award is given to one individual each year, at any site, who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as a clinician or teacher.

The 2021 Recipient is:

#### Dr. Shaheen Darani

Psychiatry University of Toronto

# RESIDENCY PROGRAM EXCELLENCE AWARD

This award is given to one Program in the province that consistently provides an exceptionally positive and rewarding experience to residents, while producing physicians who are expertly trained to care for their patients.

The 2021 Recipient is:

# Division of Geriatric Medicine University of Toronto

# RESIDENT TEACHING AWARDS

The Resident Teaching Awards honour residents who have provided outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior housestaff and clinical clerks.

The 2021 Recipients are:

### McMaster University

Dr. Lindsey Russell PGY5 Gastroenterology

### Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Dr. Zacchary Fredette PGY1 Family Medicine

### Queen's University

Dr. Arjun Kundra PGY3 Internal Medicine

### University of Ottawa

Dr. Hashim Kareemi PGY3 Emergency Medicine

### **University of Toronto**

Dr. Susan Armstrong PGY4 Anatomical Pathology and Dr. Priti Gros PGY5 Neurology

### Western University

Dr. Shane Freeman PGY4 Emergency Medicine

# CITIZENSHIP AWARDS FOR MEDICAL STUDENTS

The Citizenship Awards recognize medical students who, in addition to maintaining an adequate academic standing, have made significant contribution towards improving the general welfare of fellow medical students.

The 2021 Recipients are:

#### **McMaster University**

Ms. Charlotte McEwen

# Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Mr. Jai Mashru

### Queen's University

Ms. Ishita Aggarwal

### **University of Ottawa**

Ms. Kaitlin Endres

#### **University of Toronto**

Mr. Yousuf Ahmed and

Ms. Jackie Tsang

Western University

Ms. Sarah Luciw

